2015 was a year of repeat lessons for me as a stepmom and wife.  Each time it get a little easier, but I hope 2016 is the year that I finally learn those lessons.  However, since every article I read says it takes several years for a blended family to settle, I expect I’ve got at three to four more years to go.

******

What did I do in 2015 that I had never done before?   I was away from home for the New Year, built a bee hive, used a cultivator, made a Reuben sandwich, participated in an organ harvest, first speeding ticket, first defensive driving class, threw a crawfish boil, surfing, camping, kayaked  27 miles, got my first tick, caught and cleaned crabs, had family to our lake spot for 4th of July, won a scholarship to national nursing conference, was apart from my husband for 2 weeks while he was out of the country for work, ate smoked duck pizza, made cakes for family birthdays, drove the boat onto the trailer, got my concealed handgun license, real snowball fight, Thanksgiving buffet, visited Utah, mountain biking in Moab, skiied at Park City, got my first Macbook (Christmas present from husband)

Did anyone close to you give birth?  3 co-workers had their babies.  My little brother and his wife are expecting.

Did anyone close to you die? No

Where did you go?  Kayaking and camping 3 days on the Ouachita River in Arkansas, Atlanta for nursing conference, road trip to meet husband’s friends in  Oklahoma, mountain biking and skiing in Utah for Thanksgiving, and stopping to see my grandparents in New Mexico

One of your favorite memories?  Valentine weekend at the lake with my hubby, my valentine card and message from my stepson, anniversary weekend with dinner and spa treatment, restaurant birthday dinner with both sides of the family, 3 day kayaking trip with my people, Thanksgiving snowball fight and sledding

What do you wish you’d spent more time doing? Writing, playing music, creating

What do you wish you’d spend less time doing? Wasting time on social media

What song will always remind you of 2015? Uptown Funk by Bruno Mars, See You Again by Wiz Khalifa, Exes and Ohs by Elle King

What was your favorite TV program? Walking Dead,  House of Cards, True Detective, Game of Thrones, Orange is the New Black, Jane the Virgin, Fear of the Walking Dead

What was your favorite movie?   Mad Max and Star Wars

