2014 2014 will forever be one of those years that I remember as a turning point in my life. I became a wife and stepmother in March.  Those two instant roles have required a lot of growth on my part – some I expected and some that surprised and overwhelmed me.  I know there is more to come. I joined the cardiovascular team in the spring (after leaving 5 1/2 years on a telemetry unit to try OR during the last of 2013) and have continued to expand my professional scope.

What did I do in 2014 that I had never done before?  Planned a wedding ceremony, got married, visited Alaska, caught a salmon, went dog sledding, went for a walk in the snow, rolled and played in the snow, rode a train, visited the most northern bar in the U.S., kept warm in a yurt, made a pie from scratch with berries I picked myself, caught bass, caught crappie, bought and drove a boat, participated in a work mentorship program, planted trees, went to a sex shop, rode on a motorcycle in the rain, tubing, wakeboarding, ate fresh honeycomb, took a jiu jitsu class, skiing, ate a New Mexican breakfast burrito, snowball fight, watched a torchlight parade and fireworks over a mountain

Did anyone close to you give birth?  Marlene

Did anyone close to you die? My husband’s mother and aunt both passed this year.

Where did you go?  Alaska, Florida, New Mexico, Colorado

One of your favorite memories?  A concert date with my husband:  wonderful dinner, Zac Brown Band, and drinks overlooking the city and learning to ski in New Mexico with my husband and stepson

What do you wish you’d spent more time doing? Spending more time with friends

What do you wish you’d spend less time doing?  Allowing myself to wallow in negative thoughts.

What song will always remind you of 2014? Happy by Pharrell and All About that Bass by Megan Trainor

What was your favorite TV program? Walking Dead,  House of Cards, Orange is the New Black, True Detective, Game of Thrones, The Good Wife

What was your favorite movie?  Maleficent, Interstellar, and The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

