“I remembered that, and remembering that, I remembered everything.”

“I was sad that nobody had come to my party, but happy that I had a Batman figure, and there was a birthday present waiting to be read, a boxed set of the Narnia books, which I took upstairs.  I lay on the bed and lost myself in the stories.  I like that. Books were safer than other people anyway.”

“I do not remember ever asking any of the other children in my class at school why they had not come to my party. I did not need to ask them. They were not my friends, after all.  They were just the people I went to school with.  I made friends slowly, when I made them.”

“I was not happy as a child, although from time to time I was content. I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else.”

“I’m going to tell you something important. Grown-ups don’t look like grown-ups on the inside either. Outside, they’re big and thoughtless and they always know what they’re doing. Inside, they look just like they always have. Like they did when they were your age. The truth is, there aren’t any grown-ups. Not one, in the whole wide word.”

“I do not miss childhood, but I miss the way I took pleasure in small things, even as greater things crumbled.”

 

 

