What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before? I had never gone to a nice sit-down dinner with several courses and wines.  First in Bermuda and now 3 times through a new dinner club.  I ate foie gras, eel, beef tongue, pig trotters, and chicken feet. I went snorkeling and sea kayaking.

Did you keep your new year’s resolutions and will you make more for next year? I’m continuing my own happiness project and using a life list for some fun goals.

Did anyone close to you give birth? A work friend had an adorable little boy.  I predicted 8 months in advance that he would be born on my birthday. I was right.

Did anyone close to you die? I lost my great grandmother at the end of the summer. I expect my upcoming trip to Colombia to be bittersweet as I had thought I’d get to see her at least one more time.

What countries did you visit? Bermuda (British territory)

What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010? More relationships.  Never have I been more aware of my lack of good local friendships than when looking for people to go to these dinner parties with me.

What was your biggest achievement of the year? Getting over the fear of going to events alone. I’ve never regretted showing up.  I have regretted staying home.

What was your biggest failure?  Taking a new step professionally.

Did you suffer illness or injury? Thankfully, no.

What was the best thing you bought? Sewing machine. An a fabulous haircut.

Where did most of your money go? The usual – bills and savings.

What did you get really, really, really excited about? A certain boy asking me out.  I couldn’t eat afterwards.

What song will always remind you of 2011? Party Rock Anthem by LMFAO and Black Water by Apparat.

Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder?  Happier.  Every year gets better and better.

ii. thinner or fatter? The same.

iii. richer or poorer? Richer.

What do you wish you’d done more of? Local sightseeing.

What do you wish you’d done less of? Sleeping in on my days off.  I never feel good if I get up after 9am.

How did you spend Christmas? My family came over Christmas Eve.  We drank hot chocolate and ate arepas while playing Taboo.  Then we opened gifts.  I spent actual Christmas day at work.  It was incredibly busy for a holiday, but I had a nice time with my coworkers.

Did you fall in love? No.

What was your favorite TV program? Parks and Recreation.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?  No.

What was the best book you read? The Hunger Games.

What did you want and get? A better relationship with my sister.

What did you want and not get? Peace between my mom and sister-in-law.

What was your favorite film of this year? Bridesmaids.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 28 this year.  My family always goes to a buffet anytime we go out to eat together.  I tried to push for a new experience.  (Really anywhere but Golden Corral or the local bad Mexican place.)  I was outvoted.  On my birthday.  I realize that I’m still bitter about that. I’ve got to let it go.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably satisfying? Knowing that I had always done my best.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011? I have no hard rules when it comes to patterns and colors. I like things more structured vs. flowy and loose.  I hate most anything that ties in a bow in the back.  I’m always cold, so I tend to layer.  As soon as it’s cold enough the tights come out.  I live in Texas, so that usually means sometime mid-December.  Today’s high in the 8o’s got in the way.

What kept you sane? Having something to look forward to doing.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Kyle Chandler.

What political issue stirred you the most? Health care reform

Who did you miss? As always, I miss my college friends.  We see each other once a year, and it just isn’t enough.

Who was the best new person you met? The creator of the local dinner party club.  She and her husband are some of the loveliest people you could ever meet.

What is a valuable lesson you learned in 2011? Clear eyes. Full heart. Can’t lose.

