I started wearing glasses in the third grade after my teacher sent home a note to my parents that I was having trouble seeing the board.

My parents gave me a choice between the two cheapest frames.

Option 1:  Clear, chunky frames

Option 2: Clear, chunky frames with rainbow lines running through them.

I chose the first pair with the thought that they’d somehow be less dorky than the second.  If I can get a hold of a picture to scan, you will have the opportunity to judge for yourself.  I might as well have gone for the colors.

I remembered this today because of Cup of Jo‘s link to these glasses.  Even though today’s version are much sleeker and cooler, I could never wear anything like those again.

Not to mention that my parents would feel validated somehow.  “See?!?  I told you they were cool!!!!”

