1) I made a fabulous lunch this past Sunday when my parents came over.   I wasn’t fast enough with the camera before everyone dug in, so no pictures are available.  We had broiled chicken with a creamy dijon sauce, balsamic cucumber and tomato salad, french bread, and chocolate banana smoothies for dessert.  The following recipes were from Cooking Light Superfast Suppers:

Dijon sauce: Mix 1/4 cup mayo, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard, 1 tsp minced garlic, and 1/4 tsp dried rosemary.

Salad: Combine 1 cucumber seeded and cubed, 1 tomato seeded and chopped, 2 tbsp balsamic dressing, 2 tbsp Parmesan cheese, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/4 pepper.

The sauce was great, but my favorite was the salad.  It is perfect for taking to work.  No leaves to get wilty.  I’m going to take it tomorrow along with some sauce, chicken strips, and tortillas.

2) I learned a few new sewing skills: applying binding and making gathers.

3)  We’ve been without cable for a couple of weeks now, and there have been no withdrawal symptoms.  (I’m watching Breaking Bad and Project Runway through Amazon Instant Demand.)

4)  New pillows, table runner, and silk flowers make all the difference!

