I had a fabulous time seeing college friends, meeting a new baby, and spending five days in Bermuda in celebration of a friend’s graduation from med school.

I began the trip with a stop in D.C.   A friend lives there with her husband and new baby.  The other two girls joined us at their apartment for a fun, relaxing weekend together. We went to a wine-tasting festival.  Yum.  We ended up choosing our favorite white and adding cheese and bread for a lovely picnic.  I learned how to play Monopoly Deal and Apples to Apples.  We only ate out once for breakfast.  The rest of the meals were made at home.  We watched the new series Sherlock.  We played with the happiest baby I’ve ever seen.  I enjoyed the best company there is to have.

Only two of us were going on to Bermuda.  We were picked up by a driver and taken to the airport for a private flight.  We stayed in a house overlooking the beach with a small little cove just to the left.  The views were breathtaking.  My friend and I took each day slowly.  We chose one activity each morning followed by a lunch before heading back to the house for a nap and beach time.  It was her uncle that had provided this trip.  He took us to very nice dinners for three nights before he had to leave us there for the rest of the week.

I had several firsts on this trip: foie gras, eel, snorkeling, and sea kayaking. We saw the caves and visited the small aquarium/zoo.  We checked out the weekly festival of vendors and food on Front Street.  The rest of our time was spent at the beautiful home enjoying the views.  I loved just sitting outside and feeling the breeze while listening to the waves break on the shore.  I introduced my friend to Downton Abbey and Firefly.  I finished the third book of the Ice and Fire series.

(Which is a great series to read, but not a great series to read as part of a Cannonball Read challenge.  Each book is about 900 pages.  This is putting me way behind.)

I had a fabulous time, but Bermuda is not a place I would recommend to people.  It is expensive.  Ridiculously expensive.  The entire island is a tourist trap.  I went on the trip with flight and lodging provided (plus several meals and a driver to get us around), and that helped offset the cost of living for a week in Bermuda.

Maybe I’m just a stingy person, but the trip would not have been worth it to me had I had to pay everything out of pocket.  There are other spectacular views to be had for less money and with less tourists.

That said, I would go back in a heartbeat if invited again.  The next time I would just eat fine dinners and stay home to feel the breeze and listen to the waves break on the shore.

