What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

Susannah Conway

 

The wisest decision I made this year was to actively seek out happiness in my life.

The concept of happiness is often an abstract, vague picture.  How do you measure happiness?  How do you create happiness in your own life?

I was introduced to the idea of  a real pursuit of happiness through Gretchen Rubin’s blog The Happiness Project.  I was intrigued, so I started my own project.

I’ve been keeping  a list on the left sidebar.  Most of that list comes from postings on Rubin’s blog.  Each is personal to me in some way.

I’ve learned over the year, though, that the first is the most important: Set a bedtime.  I’m not the best person I can be without sleep.  I just don’t have the energy to pursue my own happiness without it.

I’ve been using this list to help me make decisions.

Should I go to my high school reunion?

Should I try for that new job?

Should I say yes to that date?

I’m not saying I made terrible decisions before, but I know that even while desiring change I often shrink from the process to get there.

This list is a reminder to me that I need to take active steps to ensure my happiness.

My happiness project is better than any old New Year’s Resolutions.

These are my life’s resolutions.

 

** I’m rather late to the Reverb10 party, a chance to reflect on the past and coming year.

