What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before? Traveled to another country alone

Did you keep your new year’s resolutions and will you make more for next year? I didn’t make any official resolutions last January, but I will for 2010.  I’m someone who needs goals in order to move forward.

Did anyone close to you give birth? No, but that will change next year!

Did anyone close to you die? Thankfully, no.

What countries did you visit? Colombia

What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009? A six month emergency fund

What was your biggest achievement of the year? Independence

What was your biggest failure? I failed to apply discipline to writing and running.

Did you suffer illness or injury? Nothing except a few upset stomachs.

What was the best thing you bought? My TV and couch.  I consider them one unit.

Where did most of your money go? Bills and savings

What did you get really, really, really excited about? Travel

What song will always remind you of 2009? Black Eyed Peas – I Gotta Feeling

Compared to this time last year, are you:

i.  happier or sadder? Sadder, I suppose.  Last year this time I was buying my first home.  It’ll take something huge to top that feeling.  Though my upcoming trip to Vietnam is nearly just as exciting.

ii.  thinner or fatter? The same.

iii.  richer or poorer? Richer in most aspects of life.

What do you wish you’d done more of? I wish I’d taken more definitive steps toward achieving my dreams.

What do you wish you’d done less of? Procrastination

How did you spend Christmas? I spent Christmas Eve night with my immediate family at my home near my first live Christmas tree.  I spent Christmas day at work.

Did you fall in love? No.

What was your favorite TV program? Supernatural.  It is the second of only 2 shows I’ve ever enjoyed that came from the CW (and its previous forms).

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Hate is a strong word, but I deeply detest the controlling, ignorant man my aunt has chosen to bring in her life and therefore the lives of her three young girls.  The entire family has circled in tightly to keep an eye of the situation.  She’s in denial of all the red flags that signal a problematic relationship.  We’re ready to step in if necessary for the girls’ sake. Seriously, who takes a look at the guy who stole the van from your parent’s church and thinks, “Winner!”  My genius aunt, that’s who.

What was the best book you read? The Road by McCarthy.  I couldn’t shake it off for weeks.

What did you want and get? My dog Archie came home after being missing for 2 weeks.  I love that boy.

What did you want and not get? A remodeled kitchen

What was your favorite film of this year? I don’t see many films in theater, but my favorites were “District 9” and “Paranormal Activity.”  My favorite movie rental this year was “Let the Right One In.”

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I worked while turning 26.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurable satisfying? If I were completely honest, the answer would be to have made some deeper connections with a guy.  I don’t say love, because trust is not something that comes easily to me.  And a trusting friendship has to come first.  That’s the hardest part.  It’s easy to meet people.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009? I refused to buy anything I didn’t love.  This meant I didn’t buy much.

What kept you sane? Having something to look forward to during the darker days.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Jenson Ackles.  Joel McHale Is a very close second.

What political issue stirred you the most? Health care reform.

Who did you miss? My college buddies.  I got to see them in May for one of the girl’s beach wedding.

Who was the best new person you met? Maria, one of the new nurses.  She’s become a good friend both professionally and personally.

What is a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009? Follow your gut, even when it might hurt.  I should have kicked my sister out of my house and back to my parents last May.  Instead, I let her mooch for months before she finally moved into a friend’s apartment in September after graduating.  All because I didn’t want to have to kick her out for not keeping up her end of the bargain.  She was a bitch to me over and over again, and I let her do it.  All it did was make me unhappy while she couldn’t care less. Lesson learned, 2009.  Lesson learned.

